Ginger Beer is a popular mixer that is often used in drinks like the Moscow Mule and the Dark and Stormy. The name can be confusing and often leaves people wondering whether it contains gluten or not.
What is Ginger Beer?
Ginger Beer is a non-alcoholic beverage made from water, ginger, and sugar. It used to be made by fermentation but is most often manufactured now. It is not the same as Ginger Ale. It has a stronger ginger flavor than regular soft drinks, and that's why it works so well as a mixer providing a lot of flavor to mixed drinks.
It became popular in England during the Victorian era and was used in China as a medicine.
Is Ginger Beer Gluten Free?
Is this safe to drink if you have Celiac Disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity? After all, it does have the word "beer" in the title. Beer is generally not gluten free as it is made of barley malt, which contains gluten.
Luckily Ginger Beer is gluten free. It is simply made from water, ginger, sugar, cream of tartar, and yeast. It is carbonated, and because of the ginger content, some even use it to tame an upset stomach.
There can be some variation across brands, but these simple ingredients are the standard for the most part.
Ginger Beer Ingredients
- cream of tartar
- lemon peel and citric acid (sometimes)
Brands of Ginger Beer
Always check the ingredient list to ensure these do not contain gluten. Companies often change ingredients, and it's not always easy to tell when something new is added. Always better to double check!
- Fever Tree Premium
- Q Mixers Ginger Beer
- Maine Root Ginger Brew
- Reed's Stronger Ginger Beer
- Zevia Mixer Ginger Beer
- Barritt's Original Ginger Beer
More Cocktail Recipes
Tell Us What You Think