Gluten is a protein found in certain grains like wheat, barley, rye, and some oats. If you've been part of the Seasonal Cravings community for any time, you know that I gave up gluten long ago because it causes tummy troubles that I don't feel like dealing with. I generally feel like I have more energy and sleep better when I don't eat gluten.
Keep reading to find the Ultimate Gluten Free Food List PDF you can print for free.
Gluten is a protein found in certain grains like wheat, barley, rye, and some oats. I generally feel like I have more energy and sleep better when I don't eat gluten-containing grains.
I have been on a gluten free diet for several years simply because it makes me feel better. I have a gluten intolerance, not full-blown celiac disease - also known as non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
I also eat gluten free because I try to follow a CLEAN diet with less processed foods and more whole foods like fruits and vegetables.
If you suffer from bloating, stomach discomfort, fatigue, constipation, or gas when you eat a big plate of pasta, you might want to consider whether you could have a gluten intolerance, too because these are common symptoms of gluten intolerance.
If you want to learn more about becoming gluten free check out my How to Go Gluten Free Guide, my Gluten Free Diet Meal Plan, and 100 Gluten Free Lunch Ideas. It's got everything you need to know about getting started.
Keep reading to get a list of gluten-free foods in PDF form. Always check food labels to be sure because gluten-containing foods can be tricky.
Once you are a pro at that, you can print out this Ultimate Printable Gluten Free Food List and attach it to your fridge.
Take a photo, and you will have it with you at the store when you need it. Or print out the Gluten Free Food List here.
- Fruits and Vegetables
- Gluten Free Meat
- Gluten Free Fish
- Gluten Free Dairy Products
- Gluten Free Whole Grains
- Gluten Free Oils
- Gluten Free Condiments
- Gluten Free Nuts
- Gluten Free Beans
- Gluten Free Beverages
- Alcoholic Beverages
- Gluten Free Food List Printable
- Bonus: 20 Best Gluten Free Products at Trader Joe's
- Weekly gluten free diet meal plan to get you started!
- 100 Gluten Free Lunch Ideas for Kids
The Ultimate Gluten Free Food List
Fruits and Vegetables
- All fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten free. Woo hoo! Watch out for canned, pre-prepped, frozen, dried, or processed produce because they may have added sauces or thickeners. Here are some examples of my favorite fresh produce to eat on a gluten free diet
- berries - strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries
- leafy greens like kale and chard
- green beans
Fruits to Eat After Checking the Food Label
- fruit preserves
- canned fruit and vegetables
- fruit and vegetable juices
- dried fruit
- pre-chopped fruit and vegetables
- frozen fruit and vegetables
Here are a few of my favorite gluten free fruit and vegetable recipes...
Gluten Free Meat
All fresh meat, poultry, and seafood are naturally gluten free. Watch out for meat packaged in marinades and ground meat. Sometimes a filler is added to meat, and it can contain gluten.
Gluten Free Meats
- chicken breast
- chicken thigh
- chicken leg
- chicken wings
- pork chops
- pork roast
- pork tenderloin
- ground beef
- soy proteins like tofu (unflavored)
Meats to eat only after checking ingredient labels
- ground meat
- pre-marinated meat
- processed meat like deli meat, hot dogs, etc
- meat substitutes
Deli meat needs to be checked. Here are some common brands of deli meat that are gluten free but always double-check.
Gluten Free Fish
- red snapper
- sardines (in water)
Here are a few of my favorite gluten free meat recipes...
- Tender London Broil
- Apple Cider Beef Stew
- Shoyu Chicken
- 20 Gluten Free Chicken Recipes
- 40 Easy Gluten Free Dinner Recipes
Gluten Free Dairy Products
Always read the food label on processed dairy products like yogurts, flavored milk, ice cream, and cheese products.
- butter and ghee
- all cheese except blue cheese, watch out for shredded cheese and any processed cheese
- full-fat cream cheese
- cottage cheese (but check ingredients to be sure)
- sour cream
- half and half
- whipping cream
- plain yogurt (always check labels on flavored yogurt)
- ice cream - many ice creams are gluten free - refer to this article for details
Gluten Free Whole Grains
- quinoa (my personal favorite)
- buckwheat (yes, really)
- gluten free oats (must be labeled gluten free)
- brown rice
- white rice
- basmati rice
- Jasmine rice
- coconut flour
- almond flour
Grains to Avoid
- wheat flour can have many names. Check out Wheat-free.org, which has a comprehensive list of other names used for wheat flour.
- farro (farro is not gluten free!)
Here are a few of my favorite gluten free grain recipes...
Gluten Free Oils
- olive oil
- avocado oil
- coconut oil
- sesame oil
- macadamia oil
- grass-fed butter and regular butter
Gluten Free Condiments
- jams /jellies
- pure maple syrup
- ketchup (Annie's, Heinz, French's, and Hunts)
- mustard (Annie's, Boar's Head, French's, Grey Poupon, and Gulden's)
- mayo (Hellman's, Duke's, and Heinz)
- tamari (instead of soy sauce which contains gluten)
- coconut aminos
- herbs and spices (check labels to be sure, especially if it's a spice blend)
- barbecue sauce (Only Bone Sucking Sauce, Organicville, Stubb's, and Sweet Baby Rae's)
- apple cider vinegar
- ground flax
- chia seeds
- baking powder
- baking soda
- cream of tartar
Condiments to Avoid
There are gluten free options for these condiments, but you have to check the labels and ensure they are certified gluten free.
- soy sauce
- salad dressings
- tomato paste
- pasta sauce
- bouillon cubes and stocks
- seasoning mixes and blends
- malt vinegar, pickles
- most Asian sauces
Gluten Free Nuts
- sesame seeds
- pumpkin seeds
- sunflower seeds
- chia seeds
- almond, cashew, and peanut butter (plain)
Gluten Free Beans
All these are plain fresh or canned with nothing added.
- black beans
- kidney beans
- garbanzo beans
- lima beans
- navy beans
- pinto beans
- string beans
- white beans
- snow peas
Gluten Free Beverages
- 100% fruit juice
- sports drinks (always check the labels on these just in case)
- soda (always check labels some may contain caramel color, which can be derived from wheat)
Most wine, distilled spirits, and liquors are gluten free naturally, but beer contains gluten because it's usually made from wheat or barley. There are many ciders on the market now that are gluten free but always check the labels to be sure.
Hope you get a lot of value from this Gluten Free Food List. Be sure to share it if you do!
Want to learn more about going gluten free? Here are my favorite resource books.
- Gluten Free For Beginners
- The Pros and Cons of a Gluten Free Diet
- Gluten Free Halloween Candy List
- Gluten Freee Diet Meal Plan
- 100 Gluten Free Dairy Free Breakfasts